Gabriel Fauré Requiem in D minor

St. John’s Choir offers Gabriel Fauré Requiem in D minor

Sunday afternoon, April 6th at 5:00 pm.

Gabriel Fauré composed his Requiem in D minor, Op. 48, between 1887 and 1890. IT is a choral-orchestral setting of the Mass for the Dead.  This is a short requiem lasting 35 minutes.  It is written for orchestra, organ, mixed chorus and two soloists, soprano and baritone, and performed in Latin. It consists of seven movements; most famous is the central soprano aria Pie Jesu.  The performance at St. John’s will be to the accompaniment of organ and harp.

Soloists include Hillary Millican, soprano, and David Robinson, baritone.

Harpist is Cynthia Shockley.

Guest Organist is Glenda Robinson, St. Andrew’s Church.

Conductor: Alan Potts, St. John’s Church.

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.